Touching Reflections

Cloudless lagoon
empathy
navigates and extends
over my hemmed skirt,
cascading like
smooth rapids
from a waterfall’s
chasm.

I toss gemstone
rubble
I found lingering on
the impressions of my
face in halcyon
waters. Voices
pacify pacific
heat I didn’t
wake.

It’s difficult,
balancing
forward when your
own two feet can’t stay
put for any
longer. I’m
caught in a
daydream.

Just the mere
thought
of failure dredges up
fragments within pores.
I won’t think
about my
internal H2O
atoms.

Damp liquids
breathe
quotes into dulcet souls.
Broken consonants live
quiet behind
streams that
calm selfish
temper.

Double egos
gaze
and focus to a pinpoint
at me. Shoulders weigh
nothing. I’m
wary of my
actions making
sounds.

Nobody but
me
dwells here. Meanwhile,
it’s evident—unmistakable
that lucid
selkie flesh
reeks kelp;
salt.

Sometimes
I
taste icebergs melt
on my lips. Cold rests
usually cure pyrexia.
Hands touch new muse.
Ebullient
seas intox-
-icate my
despair.

6 thoughts on “Touching Reflections

  1. You are really an incredible poet, Kalei ! The choice of words, the occasional alliteration, the amazing thoughts spent before writing – you have all the ingredients to make your poems simply perfect 🙂
    I am glad you found me so that I was led to your beautiful and vibrant blog 🙂
    Have a great weekend, hope to see you around 🙂

Leave a Reply

