Hurts

Hurts

Swollen eyes
Bruised lips
Shady lies
Haunt me

Trembling floorboards
Awaken the dark more
To ignite fear
From every pyre

Inside a nightmare
Within a dream
I wish upon an ugly star
You’d be here with me

What hurts the most
Can cause an ache, not just
Bleeding pain
What hurts the most
Is not having you close
But it’s the life you chose
Without me

Cradled quotas
Choking smoke
Rusty gold dust
Swept off marionettes’ feet

As I step further
Into a misty dystopia
Feel the burning fervor
As shy ghosts possess me

Inside a nightmare
Within a dream
I wish upon an ugly star
You’d be here with me

What hurts the most
Can cause an ache, not just
Bleeding pain
What hurts the most
Is not having you close
But it’s the life you chose
Without me

Fingertips brush against crinkled leaves
Since the hurt can’t keep sheltering grief
I hold onto misery
To solve epiphany

What hurts the most
Can cause an ache, not just
Bleeding pain
What hurts the most
Is not having you close
But it’s the life you chose
Without me

5 thoughts on “Hurts

Leave a Reply

