Rib Cage Heart

Rib Cage Heart

 

Heart is open,
Door is closing,
Sunlight peeks through
My rib cage heart.
Why keep waiting,
When all you say is,
Everything that
Tears me apart.

My etching soul keeps calling your name
You’re making me crazy
Alone and afraid
Shadows hide what we truly say
For I am the rain on a cloudless day
But you don’t even notice my wordless pain
It’s getting dark, it’s getting late
My silhouette carves ricochet

Paper bullet,
Shield’s too crooked,
Should I let you go,
Or should I fade away?
Lifeless lover,
Your costume cover,
Is behind your picture perfect portrait embrace

My etching soul keeps calling your name
You’re making me crazy
Alone and afraid
Shadows hide what we truly say
For I am the rain on a cloudless day
But you don’t even notice my wordless pain
It’s getting dark, it’s getting late
My silhouette carves ricochet

Am I just a shape in the dusk?
A figure standing, left to rust?
Buried love alive?
A daydream destined to die?

My etching soul keeps calling your name
You’re making me crazy
Alone and afraid
Shadows hide what we truly say
For I am the rain on a cloudless day
But you don’t even notice my wordless pain
It’s getting dark, it’s getting late
My silhouette carves ricochet

For once in your life
Please turn around
You might just find
A scribbled smudge on the ground

Leave a Reply

